Saturday, January 30, 2016

Review: Soundless (2015) by Richelle Mead

In a village without girl hearse a call to action...and unlocks a power that will save her people.

Soundless, by Richelle Mead, is a young adult paranormal novel that takes place in ancient China. For as long as Fei can remember, no one in her village has been able to hear or speak vocally. Her mountain village is isolated from the outside world because an avalanche blocked the only entry way many years ago. Over time, the people began to lose the ability to hear, forcing them to use sign language to communicate with one another. Their only source to the outside world is the zipline which delivers food to the villagers in exchange for minerals from the mines. When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink. A crisis is brewing, and Fei is forced to act fast.

One night, Fei wakes up to hear a searing noise. She has regained the ability to hear. Sound becomes her weapon. A handsome miner with a revolutionary spirit accompanies her on a journey to the unknown. They don't want their people to suffer starvation and blindness. Therefore, the two embark on a majestic quest from their mountain village to the valley of Beiguo where the startling truth will change their lives forever...

Soundless is Mead's first book that takes place outside of the Western world. With careful detail and precision, Mead introduces her readers to ancient Chinese culture and mythology. I hope that Richelle Mead turns this novel into a series. It has a lot of potential: What happens to Fei once she gains the ability to hear? Will she learn how to speak as well? Will her romantic partner also gain the ability to hear? What about the kingdom that wanted to destroy the village? Does Fei and her friends continue to explore outside the mountain region? I had so many questions when I finished this book. Hopefully, they are answered in a second novel. As for now, Soundless is a stand-alone novel.

In the meantime, stay tuned to another series that Mead is launching in 2016, The Glittering Court. The third novel to the Age of X series is called The Eye of Andromeda, will also be available in 2016. Stay tuned to more updates!

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Wicked Melody Tavern's aStore Launched!

Happy New Year! I have established an online bookstore (via that lists all the books and anime shows I have read and watched since the beginning of this blog. For books, browse and purchase books by the author's name. The anime show section is under construction but will be updated periodically to include anime shows that I reviewed on this blog.
Click here to access the online store.