Friday, March 15, 2019

Review: Shades of Wicked (Night Rebel #1)

Sexy and ruthless vampire Ian finally meets his match!

Shades of Wicked, by Jeaniene Frost, is the first novel in the Night Rebel series. It is part of the Night Huntress World universe (featuring Cat and Bones), and the story takes place after the Night Prince series (featuring Vlad). Finally, much to fans' delight, we get to an entire series focusing on Ian, a vampire who insists on living life on the edge shamelessly. In some respects, he doesn't like rules imposed upon him. But his world will turn upside down with Law Guardian Veritas enters his life and expects him to go against his street credibility. Both have one enemy in common, and they must work together against the clock to defeat an ancient evil who would gladly devour both their souls. Here's an excerpt below:

The Rule Breaker...Master vampire Ian is unrepentant, shameless…and every shade of wicked. He’s made one too many enemies in his two centuries of existence, including Dagon, a demon who now lays claim to his soul. Ian’s only chance to escape Dagon is to join forces with a Law Guardian, but he's never been able to abide by the rules for long.

The Law Maker...Veritas’ normal role is police, judge, and jury to reprobates like Ian. But she has her own ax to grind with Dagon, so if she can use Ian as bait...well, all’s fair in law and war. As they scour supernatural hotspots to perfect their trap, Veritas soon realizes Ian’s carefully cultivated, devil-may-care roguish image hides something much more powerful. And Ian discovers Veritas has shocking secrets of her own. As they’re drawn to each other with a passion as intense as their peril, either love or justice will prevail. But each will have devastating consequences.

And here is the rest of it.

Stay tuned for the next novel in the Night Rebel series, Wicked Bite.

No comments: